RMRK is retiring.
Registration is disabled. The site will remain online, but eventually become a read-only archive. More information.

RMRK.net has nothing to do with Blockchains, Cryptocurrency or NFTs. We have been around since the early 2000s, but there is a new group using the RMRK name that deals with those things. We have nothing to do with them.
NFTs are a scam, and if somebody is trying to persuade you to buy or invest in crypto/blockchain/NFT content, please turn them down and save your money. See this video for more information.
[VX] Question from a total newbie

Rep: +0/-0Level 70
RMRK Junior
Hey, complete newbie here with like no programming experience.  So I'm going to need a little patience please...

I want to create an intro wherein the opening menu fades out, and after a second a box of the character appears: "Where...am I...?"  It then fades in and out a couple times, does a little more text (including perhaps a naming bar), and then puts control in the character's hands.  I've got somewhat of an idea of how to do all that - except for the part where the intro actually starts, of course.  Can anyone give me some pointers, and tell me where to start?

I may post further questions here as I get further into the creation phase.

Rep:
Level 71
Entity Humanoid Interface
What you wanna do is fairly simple. Since you said you have an idea to do most of the command except how to actually start the event, I will just mention about this. They are easy as well, just remember:

- When you want to have an event that starts immediately when the character enter the map (in this case, start the game), the event has to be an Autorun Event.
In order to make it so, when you create an event, in the below left, there is a Trigger option, choose Autorun here.
- After you finish the event, if you leave an autorun event like that normally, it will loop on and on again until forever. In order to turn off an autorun event, you should add this at the end of the event: