RMRK is retiring.
Registration is disabled. The site will remain online, but eventually become a read-only archive. More information.

RMRK.net has nothing to do with Blockchains, Cryptocurrency or NFTs. We have been around since the early 2000s, but there is a new group using the RMRK name that deals with those things. We have nothing to do with them.
NFTs are a scam, and if somebody is trying to persuade you to buy or invest in crypto/blockchain/NFT content, please turn them down and save your money. See this video for more information.
Portable RPG Maker XP

Rep: +0/-0Level 86
Hi there everyone,

This is my first post here but I've been using these forums as a resource for a long time now. I'm a hobbyist RPG maker using RPG Maker XP. I've got a couple games under my belt, and mostly just use it to build games for friends to play, and it's a good way for me to be creative and relieve stress.

I've looked around a lot to try and find out if there was a way for me to use RPG Maker as a portable application. I.E. I'd like to be able to install it onto my flash/portable hard drive so that I can play around with it anywhere. I've looked into some of the portable applications software systems out there like Ceedo and U3 (even the new one Mojopac) but I don't really want to pay the money for that purpose alone, and I'm not even sure that it would work. So does anyone know how I could go about using the software on a flash drive?

If I copy the directories out of my program files folder directly onto my flash drive and try and run RPG Maker it says that RGSS-RTP Standare must be installed. Implying that RPG maker can't find the RGSS-RTP folder when it's on the flash drive. Or perhaps that it's looking for a registry entry to show it where RGSS is installed...I don't know.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, and perhaps others here might find it helpfull as well.

Rep:
Level 87
im bored atm, so here goes: