Action Battle System - ABS
[/b]
IntroductionVersion : V 4.5
I wasn't happy with all the other ABSs, so I made this ABS with many features and customizable as possible.
I've also made a different ABS called ABS
Lite. The difference is that the ABS Lite reduces lag by alot but it does not have Event Vs. Event. ABS Lite (http://"http://www.hbgames.org/forums/showthread.php?t=10448&highlight=Lite")
FeaturesHere are some(most features can be toggled off/on, see the help file);
- Improved AI
> Check the AI Setup in the script and enemy setup.
> I plan to improve it even more seeing as other ABSes have features like, not see through walls and
run/heal if player is too strong or enemy is dying.
- Event Vs Event
- Player Vs Event
- Ranged Weapons and Spells(Bows or Fireballs and ect.)
- Able to choose if a monster attacks the closest enemy or random
- Able to assign
any hot keys for
skills and items.
- Able to use Non-Ranged Skills(attacks closest enemy)
- Able to choose button Mash time for each attack or skill. If left blank the default is 3 seconds(can change).
- Displays Demage
- Level Up Display
- Kick Back Effect
- Fade dead enemies
- ABS off/on. i.e $ABS.active = false # Off
- Dash and Sneak, can be turned off.
- Able to turn off and on the hud.
- Able to animate monsters and player.
- State Effects and Animations
- Smaller Animations
- and more..! (See the Help File)
History[spoiler]
Version 4.5
- Optional Fable Revive Effect - The player revives his/her self if the player has a revive item.
- Attacker Animation - If using an item, skill, or weapon the attacker animation in the database now plays.
- Fixed the ABS disable/enable problem. Call script : $ABS.active = false to disable and $ABS.active = true to enable. It will only disable the Enemies and the Player's able to attack or follow the ABS AI. To disable States, Dash and Sneak look in to the help file.
- Added the option to change Font, Font Color, and Font Size.
- Fixed minor bugs, unreported bugs.
Version 4.0
- Option to make Animations Smaller
- State Effects
- Fixed minor bugs, reported bugs.
[/spoiler]
Strategies[spoiler]
# The ABS can be used to setup wars and make fights between NPCs. Imagination is
# the limit.
# The events do not need to attack the player. Just remove the 0 from the hate
# group list.
#
# You can make an event a dummy, it can still be attacked, but it won't retaliate.
# This is usefull for practices, or teacing the player how to fight. It can also
# be used for NPC's.
#
# Make allias for the player. Remove the 0 from the hate group list and add all
# the monsters(their Enemy IDs, database) on the map. The allias won't
# follow the player or anything but they would attack other monsters giving
# the effect of allince.
#
# Monster Pit Fights can also be made.
[/spoiler]
Enemy AI[spoiler]
# 0 = Dummy - Will not attack but can be attacked
# 1 = See Range - Will attack only if it can see an enemy
# 2 = Hear Range - WIll attack only if it can hear an enemy
# 3 = Hear or See Range - Will attack if it can see or hear enemy
# 4 = Ally Under Attack - Will attack if its ally is under attack and if it can
# see or hear the enemy
[/spoiler]
Enemy Explanation[spoiler]
# Hate Points - The enemy will randomly give out hate points to all of it's enemies.
# Later, it's enemies will be ordered from most to least hate points.
#
# Hate Groups - The enemy will attack hate groups, meaning other enemies.
# The hate group enemies aren't considered allies.
# The player's hate id is 0.
# Do not use the event ID, use the Monster ID, you can find it
# in the Database, Enemies Tab.
#
# Closest Enemy - The enemy will attack the closest enemy, if met the right AI
# conditions. Hate points are no longer needed, if this BOOLEAN
# is true.
[/spoiler]
Screenshots(https://rmrk.net/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimg488.imageshack.us%2Fimg488%2F5739%2Fabsgh6.png&hash=463c63645fcf938c1bc00dc60ab41fedbce17bc4)
RequestsCompabilityWorks only with the SDK. Should be compatible with everything except some menu systems that doesn't edit Scene_Menu. Does not work with Netplay Plus or anyother ABS or SBABS systems.
DownloadsVersion 4.5Mirror 1 - Savefile.com (http://www.savefile.com/files/413142)
Mirror 2 - Megaupload.com (http://www.megaupload.com/?d=5QWJBLVE)
Mirrow 3 - Thanks to lobosque (//http://)
Read the help file. Its short. For further examples, look in to the script.In the demo the player animates, you can disable this if you wish.
If the game lags please use this anti-lag script instead of the one in the demo :) http://www.hbgames.org/forums/showthread.php?t=11639&highlight=anti-lag
Add-Ons
[spoiler=Mouse Based ABS - IMS]
Introduction
This is an add-on for the abs. It is combined with the Interactive Mouse System. (http://"http://www.hbgames.org/forums/showthread.php?t=10450")
Screenshot
Notice the mouse icon changes to sword.
(https://rmrk.net/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimg300.imageshack.us%2Fimg300%2F617%2Fabsimsfr3.png&hash=c56fd68556b3af15d71f56de7757d0a01efe86e2)
Notice now it changes to bow.
(https://rmrk.net/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimg87.imageshack.us%2Fimg87%2F8118%2Fabsims2gk8.png&hash=209de6e09ed6f11d547ee733e2746431fa0a3924)
Download
Mirror 1 - Savefile.com (http://"http://www.savefile.com/files/369773")
Mirror 2 - Megaupload.com (http://"http://www.megaupload.com/?d=101GFX0F")
[/spoiler]
Thanks and Credits
Credit me and Near Fantastica.
# Thanks to Near Fantastica's methods;
# - In Range?, Get Range, In Direction?, enemy_dead?, treasure
# - RANGE_WEAPONS, RANGE_SKILLS
# - Class Game_Range(highly modified for convinience)
# - Scene_Skill(main, update_shk)
This is not an edit of Near Fantastica's ABS. I wrote mines from scratch, except for the methods I listed.
If you plan to use the blonde girl that comes with this, give credit to Prexus too, for using them.
Look at each script for the author's name and give them credit as well.
Wow, I thought Mr. Mo would never come and post his ABS. Good work.
Best ABS ever.
Is that a hotkey bar, I've been trying to make a good hotkey bar for ages!
*opens up script and looks for hokey code*
Quote from: Darklord on January 15, 2007, 12:00:34 AM
Best ABS ever.
Is that a hotkey bar, I've been trying to make a good hotkey bar for ages!
*opens up script and looks for hokey code*
I attempted to use it before, but it wouldn't work. I didn't know anything about scripts then either.
thanks, and how do I get this moved to the usefull scripts forum.
Edit:
I heard alot of complaints about the lag in my ABS, I will fix this now, the reason it does this because the enemies check for the closest enemy and attacks that. Since RGSS is slow, it effects the script alot.
Edit 2:
In my new version of the ABS, lag doesn't seem to be an issue. If it still does I reccomend using this Anti-Lag script instead of the one that comes in the demo :).
http://www.hbgames.org/forums/showthread.php?t=11639&highlight=anti-lag
Uh why isn't it downloading when i clickon the links?
It takes to this page http://www.w3.org/Protocols/ and it won't let me download.
Plz help!
sorry about that. Links Fixed.
I tried it, but all the healthbars and stuff don't show up on my screen.
And what's SDK?
EDIT: Nevermind, I fixed everything, thanks!
Standard Development Kit. It's a script that can be found at .org
Okay, 3 problems:
1: If I kill all the snake things with greater light/darkness, and then talk to the red-haired dude after they're dead, the game freezes.
2: I can go under most of the tank.
3: There's no hit sprite for the main character as a soldier, if you get hit it says "unable to find merc-hit" and crashes.
Quote from: Lunais on January 15, 2007, 07:28:29 PM
Okay, 3 problems:
1: If I kill all the snake things with greater light/darkness, and then talk to the red-haired dude after they're dead, the game freezes.
i will check that out.
Edit: That was befcause I forgat to check the "Ignore Impossible Moves" thing in the Event Movement Command. So your were in front of the guy and he coudn't pass :-/.
Quote
2: I can go under most of the tank.
..I'm guessing you are new to rmxp :-/. Rmxp Event Passability only supports 32*32, you would need the Event Size script somewhere in hbgames.org to solve this issue.
Quote
3: There's no hit sprite for the main character as a soldier, if you get hit it says "unable to find merc-hit" and crashes.
I'm not a spriter, I'm a scripter.
You could at least like, copy and paste the original sheet and rename it so it looks like nothing happens. At least the game wouldn't crash.
You are right. The next demo will be a short game so this problem won't be experienced hopefully :)
Where can I get SDK?
in the demo.
It says: Cant find Character graphic Fighter01 hit, but it is there. And how come I cannot attack him?
I have a weird problem. I copied everything directly from your demo, including the SDK, and when I go into the menu and push down, the cursor goes down but it also exits the menu. I play your demo, and it obviously doesn't do that. Somehow in copying everything over it made the down key be the equivalent to the escape key. Any idea how?
Sorry to bother but when it comes to scripting im am 100% NOOB so i have no clue where to put what or were to find what... Could you possibly help? :-[, also i was wondering if you could save the game file (now accual game) so i can open it in pos knight edition?
will this work in pk knights edition
rep +
This is really nice !
Great script but when i try to save a game it wont let me load.
By the way Mr.Mo, sorry for the late reply, but, this is Fabulous.
+rep
Uh, I don't know how to work it. It downloaded as a .rar and it wont open as anything. Please help...
And how can I use the script in a game?
Can you post the script and stuff on here? I can't seem to be able to open up the demo in both the PK version and the real version of RPG Maker XP.
ya none of the text wont show up so help me???? on everything the menu and messages
I get the error of the non-compatability for every game that I download here that still has the game opening thing on it -_-
To answer everyones compatability problem. Do this:
1. Get the Original Trial Version but do not use it to make games!!
2. Open the game with the Original Program and copy the script to the PK edition
3. Should work in your PK game name.
That's what I did and it works fine for any game that isn't compatible with PK.
Mr.Mo awesome job dude you deserve a rep Point!
Argh... Still not working...
Found the way to put this into the pk knights edition so read well.
Or and usefull to have winrar.this is how i did it.
1.downlaod mr mo and get the document up for it
2.then make a new project in knights edition
3.then open that project docements up.Then looking at mr mo abs drag the graphic,audio,data document into ur made project then open it
4.when u open it should have mr mo and if u cant read the text for it when u start his game read on.
5.open ur projects scripts at the end of it urll see mr mo abs scripts.
6.copy his scriptS and put them in ur REAL game.
7.put the graphics and audio into ur REAL game.
8.import the audio and graphics
9.I suggest u copy Mr mo's abs maps into ur REAL game to see how he did it
well this is how i did it so comment back if something goes wrong
Thank so much, punisher! I managed to get everything to work. Thanks again for the help!
I'm just wondering; is the file supposed to be in .rar format? If so, how do I use it?
yeah it is.
just download winrar. it's basically like winzip.
http://www.win-rar.com/download.html :p
Thanks for your help!
Because it's rar, i can't make it work :'( Can you help me?
Google for WinRar, download it, install it and unrar the file.
http://nice I mean VERY NICE WORK!
Do u have this in non rar form?
I dont got winrar.
Just download winrar... It's free and you just google winrar and it should come up.
Uh huh..... yeah Punisher i can't follow that :-\
anyone wanna just post the script?
If any on emails me ill send them the mr mo for pk my email is cyberboy766@aol.com because this web site wont let me put a folder for attachment so ill send the whole thing making it eaiser.
Where do I insert the gradients ???
Where do I put the gradients??????
there no key's working besides the arrow keys, now ay to attack or anything, Im using a laptop keyboard, could that have anything to do with it?
It's not your computer, it's the script. This script changes what each key does. This is because of the amount of features in this ABS.
It says its set to the "s" key but theres still no atacking.
You probably have to set the controls to true.
I got it now, thanks.
I need help with hate points/ hate groups. I'm trying to make a little war scene and I need guards so I made the ID and the sprite but when I set their hate group to [0,0] they just attack me and when I set it to
- they get attack by enemies but would only attack me. Also is it ok for to differnt monsters or hate groups to share the same monster ID?
Okay if your creating a war fight what you whant to do is like ur gaurds put there hate group [Enemys idss]for example [5,6,7] but if you want them to not attack you never put the zero in there but then the enemys id you wanna put a zero and the gaurds id in it.
The sscript goes where everything usually goes: Right above Main.
Read instructions, you should see what to do. I think..
OKAY I HAVE A REEAAAALLLLYYYYY HUUUUUUUGGGGGGGEEEEEE PROBLEMO.
i want to use aluxes, the guy in the brown armour, as my player, but.... when i get hit, it says something like "cant fit hit graphic for character" and then the game crashes.
I mean... I for one dont want to use lisa, i wanna use aluxes, how do i fix this?
Download
Mirror 1 - Savefile.com
Mirror 2 - Megaupload.com
those links arent working =(
Okay ruhan you do not have to use the chick because without telling the abs what itll look like when he get hit looks like itll crash. So you have to put this as the files name for the following.
---------------------------------------------------------------------
The file code names:
001-Fighter01_def
001-Fighter01_skl
001-Fighter01_hit
001-Fighter01_cast
001-Fighter01_bow
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Its a pain in the ass but worth it. see were it says 001-Fighter01_(word) here is what all this means put all this as separat file names for the spirits. like if you have a pic with your guy with a sword the name it 001-Fighter_hit then when you attack itll show the sword witch it much cooler or you could leave them all the same and look not cool as the cool things.And for def you could put a sheild on him thats what i did.but im sure you only have to do this for your main character then the rest of your party would not need the names unlees you want them to look cool.
im in a rush so if you dont understande ill catch right back to you.
And read the instructions im pretty sure it is in there.
I have a small problem, hopefully someone can help me. In my first map there is no actor because I just want text in my cutscene. So as you know, in my database my actor is deleted. I have it so she will appear in my third map when all of the cutscenes end.
The problem is that I get undefined method for HUD so I have to put the actor back in. I tried hiding the HUD for the map but it didn't work. Is there any way to disable it for certain maps? Thank you! I love the script by the way.
If you mean make it so your hud goes away when your dude comes back then press e.
I don't think that is it. I get a script error with no actor defined in my database. Can I disable the HUD completely from certain maps?
Question on your hud problem does are there any monsters in these scenes if not why not just shutting of the abs for the maps then turn them back on these are the codes use the ''call script''
to shut off abs
$ABS.active = false
to turn it back up
$ABS.active = true
OR
----------------------
i think i would go with this one.
USe call script this just hides the hud
$scene.hud_hide
then to turn it back up
$scene.hud_show
Quote from: BECKY1111 on April 07, 2007, 12:40:51 AM
Download
Mirror 1 - Savefile.com
Mirror 2 - Megaupload.com
those links arent working =(
Eh em(lol)
tanx for the help, but i guess ill make my own sprites for the battle system.
Sorry to be a pain in the ass, but everytime i try to click a NPC ((with the Mouse Edition of the system)) It comes up with an error. SOmthing about Arguments on line 52 1 of 2 expeced somthing like that. Can you help?
every time i try to use MR. mos abs with xp an error comes up when i press play, something about a name error and unitialized constant SDK. can anyone please help?
This may sound like a dumb question, but how do I lower the power of the monsters?
And how do I get the minimap to work?
im working with the script and importing the stuff needed in my pk game but some how the gradients wont work. i found the gradients and even imported them into my project and it still says its not working. i imported it into my pictures, is that the problem? am i suppose to import it into something else. there is no gradient file to import into!
never mind to my last post i fixed it.
uh i know this is kinda newbish, but where are the actual controls for the ABS? :-\
Can somebody give me the mouse based one?
i was wondering, is there any possible way to make this squad based. maybe you could like merge part of near fantasticas SBABS with this. that would be so cool! thats the one thing (in my opinion) that i think would make it better. i would use fantasticas SBABS but they dont have the hate points thing so you can make wars :(
how do you set it up using winrar
i know that the scripts are in the demo, but i cant open the demo (probably becasue i use p. knights). so can you post the scripts here for me (i dont need the sdk) please?
[edit]
nvm
Quote from: sturm on April 24, 2007, 04:02:44 AM
I was wondering, is there any possible way to make this squad based?
I need that for LL:HM. Can't anyone do that? *cough*Blizzard*cough*
Quote from: Irgna on May 06, 2007, 03:01:25 AM
Quote from: sturm on April 24, 2007, 04:02:44 AM
I was wondering, is there any possible way to make this squad based?
I need that for LL:HM. Can't anyone do that? *cough*Blizzard*cough*
yes there is away do to hbgames.org and find mr.mos suad based one
..and those links still dont work
hbgames.org won't let me veiw any posts. Yes, I have an account and I'm signed in.
i know.. wait a while and they will fix the problem then you can find the squad based thingy
Is there a way to make a different menu come up?... i'm using a separate menu script and when I press escape... a different one shows up... how do I change that?
[EDIT]
Never mind I figured it out :D
Can someone tell me all the HateGroups? I'm having trouble figuring out what hate groups hate each other... xD; I know HateGroup 0 is the Hero.... That's about it.
Any number 1+ specifies what monsters from the database they will attack. Say you have the hate group for monster A set to 1. He will attack any monsters on the field that are number 1 in the database.
I get an error saying
The instruction at "0x00d53ad0" referenceded memory at "0x00d53ad0".The memory cannot be "read"
HOW DO I FIX THIS!
Could this possible happen when you were supposed to see a 'J'?
I can't view the help file for it, help! (hmm...how ironic)
Could you post the script here? Because my Winrar just won't extract the files...
And I want to use this so badly! ;9
Try downloading and installing the newest of WinRar
Failed to Load Actor Data.
Doh >_<.
i uploaded the scripts and everything and it all runs fine but for one thing, the text in the Status Window and the text in the Hot Keys window dosen't show up but all of the other text works fine, how would i got about fixing this, oh, and i'm using the Possibility Knights Edition of RPG Maker XP
I got a few questions:
1st: How do I change the commands?
Example:
You made menu = ESC
You made S = attack
I want to change those around.
2nd:
How can I take the hot keys window off? At which script section is that? I want to take that line off without affecting the game.
P.S: Awsome script. Best I've seen so far.
try removing the section in lines 213-234 in the hud script for the hotkeys window.
for the changing of keys, look through the input section to find the keys you want, then look at the abs script itself to find the attack key.... line 145 for attack, 150 for defend, 185,186 for dash and sneak respectively. for changing the menu key, it was always esc for me, but i dont know where to change it...
Also:
When you defeat a monster. How do you get exp points? Is it auto? or is there another script I need?
It's auto, unless you have the monster setup wrong.
FREAKIN HELP FILE
Thanks for all your help boys. I just need a few things now:
1:
I want to take off the entire dash/ sneak menu. Which lines and catagory is that on?
2:
I still cant find how to change the esc into another button. Can someone tell me where is that command? I want the menu/goback key to be c or v
in mr mo's hud script, set show sneak and show dash to false... thats all i can think of
I'll try that.
Also did anyone figure out how to change the esc key into something else? Like which line..
Sorry for double posting but I dont know How to edit a post yet.
I need to know how to show/hide the hud by text.
Example:
Scene begins: hud is off (with me pressing E)
Scene 2: Hud is on again.
Hello!
I make new animations (and I add new HUD)
HeroABS
HeroABS_hit
HeroABS_bow
HeroABS_melee
Now,when I pusch "S" key (attack) hero graphic don't move... (don't attack)
Guys I need to know how to make my attack only point toward the target.
I use a skill and it comes up the wrong way. I need to know how I can attack and use skill to correspond with which way iam facing the target.
I get this error: >:(
Script 'Mr.Mo's ABS' line 495: NoMethodError occured.
undefined method 'each' for 1:Fixnum
What's going on, and how do I fix?
Thanks.
ok so i got the abs, but when i try to get the sdk all the links are dead ends. anyone have a updated link?
hmm.
Well it looks like no one else has support for his script, and Mr.Mo himself hasn't been on for months now, try switching over to Blizzards ABS:
http://www.rmrevolution.com/41/blizz-abs-action-battle-system/
Very sorry if you wanted to use this, just support for this script seems...dead.
I must ask, would it be alright for me to use this script if I plan on selling my game that uses is?
could you edit the script or make a new one that only
locks on to an enemy.
attacks enemy.
for people like me who arent that good with the scripts i know how to put it in and all but the turning off and all that junk is to much work for me plus its a bit complicated
or
could you just cut out the section of the script that has the attack function and post it. please ??? ???
This script is good and everything I love it. But is there a way you can make it so if a monster dies and drops an item, it can let you know on the map that it dropped an item? so you don't need to go to the inventory every time you kill a monster to check if it dropped anything.
I got a problem with the scripts, could someone please help me out.
My problem is that have attack button on ''S'' but when I hit S it doesn't do anything. (Could someone say which sentence I should edit or delete)
Quote from: hatstand on August 17, 2007, 10:08:19 AM
try removing the section in lines 213-234 in the hud script for the hotkeys window.
for the changing of keys, look through the input section to find the keys you want, then look at the abs script itself to find the attack key.... line 145 for attack, 150 for defend, 185,186 for dash and sneak respectively. for changing the menu key, it was always esc for me, but i dont know where to change it...
You said by deleting line 213 and 234 I tried it and it doesn't work I also tried putting off the hotkeys. My third attempt was deleting the picture for hotkeys. All three didn't work. Any suggestionts?
they said 213 through 234
When i try to change the maps or add a new one it says unable to find file Graphics/Autotiles/Cos-Round Water Please help
it means you are missing the autotile 'Cos-Round Water'
your best option is either to find it, or find a replacement.
Where can i find this auto tile
Quote from: skillzalot on February 02, 2009, 04:11:58 PM
Where can i find this auto tile
here (http://www.google.com/)
or alternatively you could just take a regular water autotile and rename it that.
It's an awesome script, probably the best I've ever seen. One of the only problems with it is that the buttons aren't as responsive. I need to hold down a button to get it to respond. :-[ Otherwise it's awesome! ;D
Amazing. Absolutely amazing.
Can someone repost the anti-lag script? The link on the main post doesn't work. Thanks ; )
hi
can i hide the time and gold display?
thanks
i sawd a Mr.mo's 5.5 Version
Post of the Year
is there a way to call the HUD menu to turn it on or off, if the characters are not on screen?
Could you help me with to how you get this to work cause im a scripting noob! ???
the mouse abs mirrors wont work
help me !
When I try to play the demo, it works fine. I transferred the scripts into a new project that has no other scripts besides the ones in the demo, but when I try to play it I just get an error message saying "Script 'Mr.Mo's ABS V4.5' line 2453: NoMethodError occurred. undefined method 'damage' for nil:NilClass"
What do I do?
nice,i might use this with my MMORPG if you don't mind
Hello
Could anyone make this script better ?
Can someone add these things like in blizz abs :
-something that you can see the things enemies drop
-a scene that i can add in the menu where u can add hotkeys
-someone else other ideas ?
would be veary helpfull if someone could make this.
already thanks !
Djeff :blizj:
i like your script its the bases of my game, however is it possible to use weapon id's as an explosive skill instead of a skill? also the ability to hot key weapons to equip on the screen?
that last one i realise might be tough or impossible
well the system is GRATE!!!
but i have a problem.. when i put it in my game and press on playtest it gives me an error at line 135
ATTACK_KEY = Input::Letters["S"]
what is the problem?
how can i fix it?
thx if you help!
vadim
sorry for bad english if it is
guys mrmo abs sucks
go and get blizz abs !
edit: So I've downloaded it. But how do you actually attack? or use a spell or something? I pushed every button on my keyboard and the only thing that happens is walking, talking, and toggles.
Nevermind. I figured it out. You have to hit "s" and be standing next to the enemy. sorry about that, I'm just used to being able to "slash" at air.
Quote from: shintashi on October 31, 2010, 03:34:10 PM
Nevermind. I figured it out. You have to hit "s" and be standing next to the enemy. sorry about that, I'm just used to being able to "slash" at air.
Ok, I've got most of the program integrated in (had to leave out some parts because they conflicted with my custom stats causing a crash), but I'm wondering why my melee attacks play animation sound files, but my ranged weapons don't play sound files.
I understand that this is old, but I would still like to use it. Unfortunately, all the download links are dead.
This script isn't supported. I would recommend Blizz-ABS (http://forum.chaos-project.com/index.php?topic=106.0) or XAS (http://atelier-rgss.com/RGSS/Battle/XAS_00a.html) instead.