RMRK is retiring.
Registration is disabled. The site will remain online, but eventually become a read-only archive. More information.

RMRK.net has nothing to do with Blockchains, Cryptocurrency or NFTs. We have been around since the early 2000s, but there is a new group using the RMRK name that deals with those things. We have nothing to do with them.
NFTs are a scam, and if somebody is trying to persuade you to buy or invest in crypto/blockchain/NFT content, please turn them down and save your money. See this video for more information.
Class question

Rep: +0/-0Level 89
Im a newb at this and have 2 quick questions.

What are the different layers ( what are they and what do they do) ?
and
At the beginning of my rpg I want a box to appear showing the story line, then close when they close it and another box opening to ask what class and gender they want to be, then it choses the character and outs them on the map.

Rep:
Level 91
there are 4 layers, the first 3 are graphic layers
the 1st one is the base of the map, 2nd will show as if it was builded on the 1st and 3rd will show builded on the 2nd.

(in other words 1st for ground, 2nd for say a house and 3rd for a flower on the house)

the 4th is event layer, you make events there by double clicking anywhere.

when your game begins to make a box that say stuff make a new event (event layer+ double clicking ) set it to autostart use a message event and write in whateva.
then for choosing in the same event use the "show choices (or something)" button and do what you want for each choice you put.
(say you put a fighter choice then if the player choose it change the hero's job to fighter)

hope it helps...

you should start on a black map that you'll never use for that event and finish the event by teleporting to the first map.
holy shit my sig was big!

Which maker are you using?