RMRK is retiring.
Registration is disabled. The site will remain online, but eventually become a read-only archive. More information.

RMRK.net has nothing to do with Blockchains, Cryptocurrency or NFTs. We have been around since the early 2000s, but there is a new group using the RMRK name that deals with those things. We have nothing to do with them.
NFTs are a scam, and if somebody is trying to persuade you to buy or invest in crypto/blockchain/NFT content, please turn them down and save your money. See this video for more information.
[RGSS2] Help making a script

Rep: +0/-0Level 69
RMRK Junior
I never made a script before and I'm not very good at it either, but I'd like to try (what I think is) a simple one which I also need and found nowhere else.

So the script is about having the character opacity set to X when it goes under a tile with priority 3 (above character).

So here's the script I tried to make:

Code: [Select]
class Game_Event < Game_Character
  if @priority == 3
  $game_character.opacity = 90
else
end
end

But as I expected, once I got in game and went under a tile set above character, it just didn't work =S

-EDIT-
I also tried:

if @flag == 0x10
  else
end
end

but with no success, I have no idea what I'm doing wrong, well I guess the script is way too short to work after all xD I hope someone can point me to the right direction

« Last Edit: February 25, 2012, 06:57:30 PM by Darkxyn »

Rep:
Level 82
Because this code:

if @flag == 0x10
  else
end

is part of the class itself and not a defined method, it gets executed immediately at compile time. Compile time starts when you hit the 'Test Play' button or run the game executable before anything is actually executed and the game starts.

At this point, the instance variables '@flag' and '@priority' are both nil. They have no value in them. So when the compiler reads the line:

if @priority == 3

It is really saying

if nil == 3