RMRK is retiring.
Registration is disabled. The site will remain online, but eventually become a read-only archive. More information.

RMRK.net has nothing to do with Blockchains, Cryptocurrency or NFTs. We have been around since the early 2000s, but there is a new group using the RMRK name that deals with those things. We have nothing to do with them.
NFTs are a scam, and if somebody is trying to persuade you to buy or invest in crypto/blockchain/NFT content, please turn them down and save your money. See this video for more information.
Modern Algebra: Quest Journal + ATS3 = Crash?

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

**
Rep:
Level 67
Eternal Newbie
EDIT: On top of everything having ATS3 and the Quest Journal together causes the game to crash everytime I open the quest menu after a quest has been added, giving me an error that states the paragraph formatter (in the quest script) is an uninitialized constant.
This was the most relevant post I could find that matches my problem. Browsing through that thread, I couldn't find a solution. My problem is that after a certain point, when I try to access the quest journal, it causes the game to crash without and warnings as to what causes the error, only a simple "RGSS2 Player has stopped working"
Well, if you are using the Quest Journal, you need to have the separate Paragraph Formatter script - the one in the ATS is quite different.
I am using both the Paragraph Formatter as well as ATS, so this isn't the solution.

http://www.mediafire.com/?ip1cpefmm988wmp

Here is the link to my project so far. I've only been doing script tests before I start with any actual story. All scripts I'm using are in there. If anyone has a solution, that would be greatly appreciated.

And on a slightly unrelated note: sometimes I get this error too
Quote
Script 'GTBS_v1.5.1 Battle_Scene' line 1286: NoMethodError occurred.

undefined method 'visible=' for nil:NilClass

*
Rep:
Level 97
2014 Most Unsung Member2014 Best RPG Maker User - Engine2013 Best RPG Maker User (Scripting)2012 Most Mature Member2012 Favorite Staff Member2012 Best RPG Maker User (Scripting)2012 Best MemberSecret Santa 2012 ParticipantProject of the Month winner for July 20092011 Best Use of Avatar and Signature Space2011 Best RPG Maker User (Scripting)2011 Most Mature Member2011 Favourite Staff Member2011 Best Veteran2010 Most Mature Member2010 Favourite Staff Member
what is the "certain point" and how can I recreate it in your project?

**
Rep:
Level 67
Eternal Newbie
It seems to happen after I complete a battle and then check the quest menu. It doesn't seem to happen before the battle, and I have tried removing and adding quests, that doesn't seem to affect it either. I think it has something to do with calling the scene itself.

EDIT: More details - I have a "complete_quest" script set to run after the battle completes that completes one of the quests. I'm not sure if this is what is causing the crash though.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2011, 05:43:48 PM by JonFawkes »

*
Rep:
Level 97
2014 Most Unsung Member2014 Best RPG Maker User - Engine2013 Best RPG Maker User (Scripting)2012 Most Mature Member2012 Favorite Staff Member2012 Best RPG Maker User (Scripting)2012 Best MemberSecret Santa 2012 ParticipantProject of the Month winner for July 20092011 Best Use of Avatar and Signature Space2011 Best RPG Maker User (Scripting)2011 Most Mature Member2011 Favourite Staff Member2011 Best Veteran2010 Most Mature Member2010 Favourite Staff Member
Hmm, I got the error and I will have to look into it further. It looks like an incompatibility with GTBS and not the ATS, but what precisely is happening will be hard to diagnose. I will try and take a look when I get time.

**
Rep:
Level 67
Eternal Newbie
Thank you kindly. I'm continuing to look at this too, and I shall post whatever I can find.

EDITS:
Crash conditions:
After 1 battle, not doing anything else
Accept all available missions, then 1 battle
Accept all missions, fail 1, then 1 battle

No Crash conditions:
After 2 battles, not doing anything else
Accept all available missions, after 2 battles
Accept all missions, fail 1, then 2 battles

Conclusions: It seems to only happen after the first battle. I have experimented with removing the complete_quest script from the event but it still causes the crash.

Also, the NoMethodError occurred error came up a few times. It seems to have something to do with the "Victory!" display at the end of the battle. I change the value on that line from true to false to nil, and the error comes up regardless of which value I put.

Also also, when I talk to an NPC, the first line of the first box will always be cut off. When I talk to it again, it will be correctly formatted. I think it has to do with the ATS, but I don't know how to fix it. The names will be cut off too when I make a \nb (for now I'm just fixed it by adding a bunch of extra space after the name ex. \nb[Name       ])
« Last Edit: August 16, 2011, 09:30:32 PM by JonFawkes »

**
Rep:
Level 67
Eternal Newbie
Sorry for the double post, but it appears I've (at least temporarily) fixed the bug! I experimented with both the GTBS and the Quest Journal script, and when I changed "manual_reveal" on the quest journal to "true", I no longer to the bug. I've tried it in several situations and I have yet to cause a crash due to the Quest Journal script. So it seems it was caused by some "complete_objective" quest or something. I don't know what it is exactly, but I hope this information helps you fix this for future users.

*
Rep:
Level 97
2014 Most Unsung Member2014 Best RPG Maker User - Engine2013 Best RPG Maker User (Scripting)2012 Most Mature Member2012 Favorite Staff Member2012 Best RPG Maker User (Scripting)2012 Best MemberSecret Santa 2012 ParticipantProject of the Month winner for July 20092011 Best Use of Avatar and Signature Space2011 Best RPG Maker User (Scripting)2011 Most Mature Member2011 Favourite Staff Member2011 Best Veteran2010 Most Mature Member2010 Favourite Staff Member
I'm glad you figured it out. Honestly, I have no idea why but you're right, if you reveal_quest instead of relying on the automatic reveal the bug doesn't occur.

Unrelated, but you should also fix line 258 of the Implementation. Where it says:

Code: [Select]
  def remove (quest_id)
    conceal_quest
    @data.delete (quest_id)
  end

Change it to:

Code: [Select]
  def remove (quest_id)
    conceal_quest (quest_id)
    @data.delete (quest_id)
  end


As for the ATS things you reported - some of the things, like the name box being too short, is just because the default text_size method of Bitmap doesn't correctly estimate the size for some fonts. Since the solution depends on exactly what font, a general solution is a little tough, though I do have an idea for it and may release that sometime. The rest are bugs which I'm aware of but I've been swamped lately; I can never find the energy to actually look into it. Once I do, though, I am sure they will be easy to fix.

**
Rep:
Level 67
Eternal Newbie
Hmmm, that's strange, after a little more experimenting, the error is coming back up. Again, it is only after one battle, regardless of how many quests I have in my log, or any other factors. I'll keep messing around, 'cause this is a pretty big bug. I thought it might have been something to do with how the battle calculates changes so I messed around with the battle phases in the GTBS battle_scene script, but nothing.

EDIT: Trying to find a solution. Perhaps the problem lies in calling the window? Which part of the code was that in?
« Last Edit: August 20, 2011, 03:41:04 AM by JonFawkes »

*
Rep:
Level 97
2014 Most Unsung Member2014 Best RPG Maker User - Engine2013 Best RPG Maker User (Scripting)2012 Most Mature Member2012 Favorite Staff Member2012 Best RPG Maker User (Scripting)2012 Best MemberSecret Santa 2012 ParticipantProject of the Month winner for July 20092011 Best Use of Avatar and Signature Space2011 Best RPG Maker User (Scripting)2011 Most Mature Member2011 Favourite Staff Member2011 Best Veteran2010 Most Mature Member2010 Favourite Staff Member
I don't think so; all the windows load fine for a second before it crashes. It's the Scene_Quest class though, between line 1219 and 1379.

I think it must originate in the GTBS and is somehow triggered when opening the quest scene, but it's not at all a normal error for the RGSS Player to just stop working and I really don't want to look through the massive GTBS. There must be something in the Quest scene which triggers it, but it's a Windows error, not a VX error; the only times I've ever seen that error other than here is for external reasons like the ini file referring to the wrong dll or not running it as administrator in Vista. I have never seen a script cause that error (and I make tons of mistakes when I script, so that's saying something). I wouldn't even be able to cause an error like that intentionally, so I don't even know how a bare script could cause that error.

Hmmm

EDIT::

Try getting rid of Zeriab's F12 cleaner. I commented it out and it seemed to work OK. I only tried it because I found someone else having a problem with this error and the GTBS and that was the only other script they had in common. Honestly, it makes absolutely no sense to me how that could possibly cause an error or why it would wait until the Quest Journal is opened. For that reason it is probably a false positive, but try it out.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2011, 05:15:16 AM by modern algebra »

**
Rep:
Level 67
Eternal Newbie
EDIT: It seemed to help for a few test plays, but I'm still getting the error. I'm leaving the F12 reset commented out for now. I looked through scene_quest but nothing seems to be causing the error
« Last Edit: August 20, 2011, 06:10:28 AM by JonFawkes »

*
Rep:
Level 97
2014 Most Unsung Member2014 Best RPG Maker User - Engine2013 Best RPG Maker User (Scripting)2012 Most Mature Member2012 Favorite Staff Member2012 Best RPG Maker User (Scripting)2012 Best MemberSecret Santa 2012 ParticipantProject of the Month winner for July 20092011 Best Use of Avatar and Signature Space2011 Best RPG Maker User (Scripting)2011 Most Mature Member2011 Favourite Staff Member2011 Best Veteran2010 Most Mature Member2010 Favourite Staff Member
I'm sorry. I don't think I'm going to be able to solve this error. Maybe you can try replacing my Quest Journal with one of the others out there. I think SkyValentine and Omegas7 have both made quest scripts and I am sure there are others too. Try checking on rpgmakervx.net.

I really don't know what to do about this error.

**
Rep:
Level 67
Eternal Newbie
It might be caused by some kind of external command, maybe something to do with memory. Any ways, thanks for all of your help. If I do end up finding a solution, I'll be sure to post here. Thanks for the recommendations, I'll try them out.