RMRK is retiring.
Registration is disabled. The site will remain online, but eventually become a read-only archive. More information.

RMRK.net has nothing to do with Blockchains, Cryptocurrency or NFTs. We have been around since the early 2000s, but there is a new group using the RMRK name that deals with those things. We have nothing to do with them.
NFTs are a scam, and if somebody is trying to persuade you to buy or invest in crypto/blockchain/NFT content, please turn them down and save your money. See this video for more information.
Mapping Help

Rep: +0/-0Level 82
Hi,

I am new to rmrk, so can someone please tell me if this is in the wrong section.

I am making a game using RPG Maker XP, and i am trying to make a map system, so your player can move across it and transport to smaller maps. (I hope that makes sense!) I tried making a common event where it brings up a picture that will be the map, but when it does this, my character dissapears, and i can only see a portion of the map that i started to create. Does this need scripting to do? As i am only just starting to learn how to use RGSS, i need help, what do i do from here. I am sure other people would have done this sort of thing before, so can someone point me in the right direction. But if not, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Frzanny

Resource Artist
Rep:
Level 94
\\\\\
Project of the Month winner for June 2009
Read some basic tutorials and then come back.

All of the tutorials that I'm reading aren't quite what i am looking for.....
Everything that ive seen is about making items that teleport you to a selected area, but i am looking for a map to be put onto the screen through the show picture command. But as I said in my last post, the character dissapears and only a portion of the map drawn is visible. Again, as i said, i am new to RPG Maker XP and also RMRK, so any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Frzanny

Rep:
Level 87
what's in your common event?