RMRK is retiring.
Registration is disabled. The site will remain online, but eventually become a read-only archive. More information.

RMRK.net has nothing to do with Blockchains, Cryptocurrency or NFTs. We have been around since the early 2000s, but there is a new group using the RMRK name that deals with those things. We have nothing to do with them.
NFTs are a scam, and if somebody is trying to persuade you to buy or invest in crypto/blockchain/NFT content, please turn them down and save your money. See this video for more information.
Balancing monsters and battles

Rep:
Level 87
He's got my gravity gun...
Alright, I have been working on an RPG for a few months now and have filled out most of my items, all my characters, some monsters, and have done a few maps.  My main problem is balancing the power of the monsters with the characters. For example I will find that the characters are dodging the monsters a lot even though their agility is low, and I will also find that if they don't dodge a lot then they often die quickly.  I have been messing around with this for a while trying to even them out.
Any pointers on this matter would be appreciated
You just got Frohwned!

Shooting for the "MEMBER MODERATOR OF THE YEAR 2007" Award
Rep:
Level 89
Hi, there.
I remember there being a tool meant for balancing just that. Battlers and Enemies.
I look for it. I cant believe I didnt download it myself. xP
Sig by MacGravel

Rep: +0/-0Level 87
I am interested in this in which you speak of. Please share for all to enjoy.

Rep:
Level 88
PSP
dang i have the same problem you have the calculator thing?

Rep:
Level 88
I remember reading a script that kinda dealt with this.
The monsters encountered would either be a couple of lvl's above or below the character's level.
It's either on this forum or on hbgames.org
sorry wasn't too interested in it at the time.

Rep:
Level 87
I had a problem with this on the RPG Maker for the PSone.