RMRK is retiring.
Registration is disabled. The site will remain online, but eventually become a read-only archive. More information.

RMRK.net has nothing to do with Blockchains, Cryptocurrency or NFTs. We have been around since the early 2000s, but there is a new group using the RMRK name that deals with those things. We have nothing to do with them.
NFTs are a scam, and if somebody is trying to persuade you to buy or invest in crypto/blockchain/NFT content, please turn them down and save your money. See this video for more information.
Hate System in RPG Maker 2003?

Rep:
Level 87
Hey all. I've been fiddling with RPG Maker 2003 off and on for about 2 years now. I just got an idea for a new game and was wondering if it was possible to create a type of hate system like in mmorpgs where you can direct the monster to attack a certain player on their next turn (like a 'Taunt' skill) BTW, I'm talking about version 2003 specifically...but if the only way I can do it is by learning the scripts in RPG Maker XP then I'll use that but I prefer 2k3.

(I already searched the forums but didn't find anything so I apologize if this is inappropriate) Anyway, I'll try to be as specific as possible as to what exactly I'm looking for:

Basically the game will have only 2 characters with a shitload of abilities. One character will act as sort of the 'tank' and can better take damage. But this character will also have spell abilities too, they'll just sort of be watered down version of the other character's kinda. Anyhow, I wanted to know if there was a way to like make the monster hit a certain player instead of it being random.

Hate spells will be as followed (I'll give them original names don't worry but just for the sake of discussion)

Taunt: Focuses enemy to direct their next attack on tank.
Aoe-Taunt: Focuses all enemies to direct their next attack on tank.
Hate+Attack: An attack with built-in hate.