The RPG Maker Resource Kit

RMRK RPG Maker Creation => Requests => Script Request => Topic started by: Wrinkle on December 22, 2014, 03:54:16 PM

Title: Custom menu screen help [XP]
Post by: Wrinkle on December 22, 2014, 03:54:16 PM
I'm trying to customize the menu for one of my games. The part i'm stuck on right now is making the items/skills menu how I picture it to be. The first menu comes up, only taking up part of the screen, you can still see the map around the border of the menu. I got the dimensions how I want and everything in place. I tried to rearrange the items menu to go with the style of this menu. When I go to the items menu (or every other menu for that case) the background turns completely black and displays the new menu. Is there any way to make it not turn black when I go to the secondary menus?
Title: Re: Custom menu screen help [XP]
Post by: &&&&&&&&&&&&& on December 22, 2014, 08:27:17 PM
Please either -
 1. Upload your project so that I can take a look.
 2. Post your edited scripts using the [code][/code] tags.
Title: Re: Custom menu screen help [XP]
Post by: Zexion on December 23, 2014, 03:02:46 AM
In the main method, before anything else, add @spriteset_map = Spriteset_Map.new
and add the dispose method aswell @spriteset_map.dispose with all the other ones
Title: Re: Custom menu screen help [XP]
Post by: Wrinkle on December 23, 2014, 04:37:57 AM
I attached a zip folder of the project for you to look at rarityshy

And I tried doing the @spriteset_map stuff, it worked kinda, but when I put in the dispose code either the rgss stopped working or I got a syntax error. I'm not the best with scripting knowledge, I know how to edit some things here and there, but this is still pretty unknown territory for me. I will keep at it to see if I can figure something out, but i'd rather help from people that know what they're doing.
Title: Re: Custom menu screen help [XP]
Post by: Zexion on December 23, 2014, 04:46:06 AM
The reason is because you used the wrong variable name. In scene_item you did
@spriteset = Spriteset_Map.new
but in the dispose method:
@spriteset_map.dispose
should be:
@spriteset.dispose

also don't forget to .update
Title: Re: Custom menu screen help [XP]
Post by: Wrinkle on December 23, 2014, 04:57:47 AM
I actually just fixed that before reading this, I seen that line in one of the other scripts and tried that instead and it worked. Thanks tho! :) Slowly getting a hang of this stuff