The RPG Maker Resource Kit

RMRK RPG Maker Creation => XP => XP Event Systems => Topic started by: Mjustin on October 12, 2009, 09:14:10 PM

Title: [XP] Airship with Looping Map
Post by: Mjustin on October 12, 2009, 09:14:10 PM
Airship and Looping Map
Version 1.1
Author: Mjustin

Version History




Description

This system allows you to put an airship in your world map, as well as make the map loop. It includes nice liftoff and movement animations with custom graphics made by me (so don't be disappointed when they're not very good).

Features




Screenshots

These are from my test file, not included in the demo.

Spoiler for:
About to board the airship:
(https://rmrk.net/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi198.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Faa54%2FMjusin%2FScreen1.png&hash=6c3d4799b5132dc9675764c9bbb3d8ac083f4ffa)
Spoiler for:
Flying above the ocean:
(https://rmrk.net/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi198.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Faa54%2FMjusin%2FScreen2.png&hash=40526c332a01899b5e1eda387cdc61775bb88f36)
Spoiler for:
Airships don't like water:
(https://rmrk.net/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi198.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Faa54%2FMjusin%2FScreen3.png&hash=923a2c6f4c14eb632470561cb80bfb7cbbcdc025)
Spoiler for:
What happens when you forget the looping map system:
(https://rmrk.net/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi198.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Faa54%2FMjusin%2FScreen4.png&hash=8463c1eb6600276a0b4cc31fda71fd79b25b0a22)

Demo


Attached. Download the readme file as well for instructions on how to implement the system.

Hope you enjoy it.
Title: Re: Airship with Looping Map
Post by: Mjustin on October 13, 2009, 01:20:58 AM
Ah, found it. Go to the variable in the second page of the autorun event on Map 1, and you should see "Control Variables: (0001: Airship Map) == 1." Set the constant to 2. It was configured wrong in the demo, but the instructions have it right.

As for the guy disappearing, that happens because you go to a separate map for the airship, allowing you to set impassable areas like mountains without making the game process even more at once. Generally the npc that gives you the airship won't be on the world map, so it shouldn't be much of a problem.

There is another bug, though. Sometimes the map won't actually loop. I'm not exactly sure, but I think it has something to do with how much it has to go through in the space of 1 frame, so I guess the game just doesn't process the command in time.


Thanks! I didn't think of it at first either. I tried to use a character set (I even made up separate ones of the departure/landing and movement), but it just didn't work out and caused a bunch of issues with passability and placing. Plus, the picture allows me to make a more fluid animation than a character set.
Title: Re: Airship with Looping Map
Post by: Mjustin on October 13, 2009, 01:56:43 AM
It's working fine for me. Are you sure you changed the constant to 2 and not the variable number?



EDIT: That was a problem I had accounted for. I have it set up like this:

(https://rmrk.net/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi198.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Faa54%2FMjusin%2Fevent.png&hash=01a1c3ec41a48a18803abd4197dbb3aad40d0502)

Moving over tile A transports you to tile B, putting you inside the boundary. Moving immediately right from tile B will put you on the boundary, which should loop the map. Unfortunately it seems the system can't handle it very well in conjunction with everything else; sometimes it even malfunctions when I've been going one direction for a while.

Good fix, though. That should solve all the problems with the looping map. Now the only problem is that the graphics will stutter a bit if the player makes it out of the intended boundary, but someone out in the middle of the ocean won't notice anyway. Thanks, Kipe.
Title: Re: Airship with Looping Map
Post by: Mjustin on October 13, 2009, 02:38:34 PM
That's good, but I'm kind of opposed to a move route command in this situation because it takes full control away from the player, if only momentarily. I suppose the move route would be best for a map where the borders aren't all out in the open sea, since graphics performance is key to making it look seamless. Other than that, though, I don't think a bit of graphics stutter would be a problem since all the tiles on the screen are the same anyway.