The RPG Maker Resource Kit

RMRK RPG Maker Creation => XP => XP Scripts Database => Topic started by: The Shadow on July 19, 2007, 06:44:11 PM

Title: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: The Shadow on July 19, 2007, 06:44:11 PM
I decided to post my changes in the Window_Status script, so you can get a very cool Status Screen.

First, have this script. Name it Face

Code: [Select]
def draw_actor_face(actor, x, y)
face = RPG::Cache.character("Faces/" + actor.character_name, actor.character_hue)
fw = face.width
fh = face.height
src_rect = Rect.new(0, 0, fw, fh)
self.contents.blt(x - fw / 23, y - fh, face, src_rect)
end

Then, In Window_Status, find first this line.

Code: [Select]
draw_actor_graphic(@actor, 40, 112)

Change it to.

Code: [Select]
draw_actor_face(@actor, 150, 470)

For this, I recommend to have your battler as face. Name the face the same as the character et you are using.

Then, on this lines.

Code: [Select]
self.contents.draw_text(320, 48, 80, 32, "Exp")
self.contents.draw_text(320, 80, 80, 32, "Next Level")
self.contents.font.color = normal_color
self.contents.draw_text(320 + 80, 48, 84, 32, @actor.exp_s, 2)
self.contents.draw_text(320 + 80, 80, 84, 32, @actor.next_rest_exp_s, 2)
self.contents.font.color = system_color
self.contents.draw_text(320, 160, 96, 32, "Equipment")
draw_item_name($data_weapons[@actor.weapon_id], 320 + 16, 208)
draw_item_name($data_armors[@actor.armor1_id], 320 + 16, 256)
draw_item_name($data_armors[@actor.armor2_id], 320 + 16, 304)
draw_item_name($data_armors[@actor.armor3_id], 320 + 16, 352)
draw_item_name($data_armors[@actor.armor4_id], 320 + 16, 400)

Change it to.
Code: [Select]
self.contents.draw_text(420, 48, 80, 32, "Exp")
self.contents.draw_text(420, 80, 80, 32, "Next Level")
self.contents.font.color = normal_color
self.contents.draw_text(420 + 80, 48, 84, 32, @actor.exp_s, 2)
self.contents.draw_text(420 + 80, 80, 84, 32, @actor.next_rest_exp_s, 2)
self.contents.font.color = system_color
self.contents.draw_text(480, 160, 96, 32, "Equipment")
draw_item_name($data_weapons[@actor.weapon_id], 420 + 16, 208)
draw_item_name($data_armors[@actor.armor1_id], 420 + 16, 256)
draw_item_name($data_armors[@actor.armor2_id], 420 + 16, 304)
draw_item_name($data_armors[@actor.armor3_id], 420 + 16, 352)
draw_item_name($data_armors[@actor.armor4_id], 420 + 16, 400)

And it should look like this.
(https://rmrk.net/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi94.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Fl104%2FDennis88_2006%2FStatus-1.png&hash=34ecee7a800981f1d1d6e491c94a7d16961f3aa6)

Tell me if it's something that dosen't work.

Credits to Sephirothspawn for The Bars scritp wich is seperate from this script.
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: tSwitch on July 19, 2007, 06:46:25 PM
very nice
it looks good

but you are using a script separate for the bars rite?
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: The Shadow on July 19, 2007, 06:55:36 PM
I have another script for the bars. I have sephirothspawn Slanted SP,Hp and exp bars script.
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: tSwitch on July 19, 2007, 06:56:12 PM
yeah, you should mention/give credit or ppl will wonder why their status doesn't have bars if/when they use this
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: The Shadow on July 19, 2007, 06:59:35 PM
I will fix that.
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: modern algebra on July 19, 2007, 07:01:26 PM
Nice status screen, it looks good :)
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: The Shadow on July 19, 2007, 07:51:59 PM
Thx. I thought the old one was so boring, so I began to experiment to make it more special. And it also builded up my scripting skills...
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: tSwitch on July 19, 2007, 07:53:31 PM
I have just ONE minor suggestion

don't cut off the top of the head like that
it's a bad cutoff point, drop it at least enough to show the rest of the head
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: The Shadow on July 19, 2007, 08:02:36 PM
Yeah, I took a look on that. If you want to change it, just change.

Code: [Select]
draw_actor_face(@actor, 150, 450)

Into

Code: [Select]
draw_actor_face(@actor, 150, 470)
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: tSwitch on July 19, 2007, 08:03:55 PM
yeah I know how to do that, hehe/me points to Simple Script Shop

I was just making a suggestion, if you wanted to follow it or not
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: The Shadow on July 19, 2007, 08:05:38 PM
Yeah, and I follow it, and it looks so much better now. Thx :lol:

I just wanted to point it out, if others want to know.  ;8
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: shaz on July 19, 2007, 09:18:25 PM
looks really nice!

Is that image actually behind the text (I'm looking at the elbow)?  So for the battler images that are wider than they are high, will the image become the background for some of the text?
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: Kokowam on July 19, 2007, 10:02:09 PM
Screenshot please? :P Also, I have a status screen edit but all mine is is just moving things around and sticking a battler on it. XP
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: tSwitch on July 20, 2007, 02:26:15 AM
err...there is a screenie?
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: :) on July 20, 2007, 04:07:45 AM
I'll be the one to move this to the database  8)
looks pretty cool ^^
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: Leventhan on July 20, 2007, 05:19:28 AM
Very nicely done.
Using that font with that battler and a decent background really makes it great.
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: Rune on July 20, 2007, 12:34:00 PM
Looks really cool :P I +reped you yesterday, but I forgot to post...
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: ChaosSoldier92 on August 05, 2007, 09:09:31 PM
i need help with this after i did what u said i got "Unable to find file Graphics/Characters/Face/001-Fighter01."
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: The Shadow on August 05, 2007, 10:01:51 PM
Do you have a folder called faces? You need to have it in your character folder. And it's importent that your character-set has the same as the face.
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: Niz2012 on December 21, 2007, 10:33:16 AM
Ok I did everything you said to do, I created a folder in my Characters\ dir name Faces\  inside which I put the "face" picture I wanted to use and named it the same name as my main character.  I changed all the lines of script. but I still get get an error message on line 23 under Windows_Status where you had me change the script line from "graphic" to "face" it says   [undefined_method for draw_actor_face]......  now if I change it back to "graphic" I don't recieve an error message however it displays the character graphic, the tiny little guy, and not the big "battler" graphic I wish to use.  I also copied your "Face" script and put it directly above "Main" as instructed, but if you ask me its like it doesnt register it, because I am sure this "face" is what tells it what to do... I am all sorts of confused can you please help me?   

What would be nice is a screenshot of your script pulled up on your window, so I can see it in action and not just read and speculate on here, just a suggestion, but it would help immensly......please help!!!
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: modern algebra on December 23, 2007, 02:13:09 PM
Put class Window_Base above the draw face method, and put end after it, so that it looks like this:

Code: [Select]
class Window_Base
  def draw_actor_face(actor, x, y)
    face = RPG::Cache.character("Faces/" + actor.character_name, actor.character_hue)
    fw = face.width
    fh = face.height
    src_rect = Rect.new(0, 0, fw, fh)
    self.contents.blt(x - fw / 23, y - fh, face, src_rect)
  end
end
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: Klarth F. Lester on March 19, 2008, 06:11:59 AM
umm Im having the same problem too... and this didn't help... does this mean I need a bigger picture?

also the image appears down below behind the status....  can you help me, please? ^^;;
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: Demonic Blade on March 26, 2008, 01:22:07 PM
Nice script and everything, I like the look of it all. And I love how you use bars (Bars Beat Text!!)!! Just a minor suggestion: Make and exp bar too, without removing the exp text!
And uh... where'd you get the picture?! [/offtopic!]
Title: Re: My Edited Status Screen
Post by: femdragonz on August 06, 2009, 07:17:33 PM
i hope this isnt dead but it says error on line 62 where end is im new so bare with me  :P