The RPG Maker Resource Kit

RMRK RPG Maker Creation => VX => VX Scripts Database => Topic started by: Rubymatt on June 07, 2008, 03:10:48 PM

Title: Compact Menu System
Post by: Rubymatt on June 07, 2008, 03:10:48 PM
Compact Menu System
Version: 1.0
Author: Rubymattt
Description

This script is a very compact CMS, similar to the one I used in castorvian legends - but for VX!  The script was basically to get me into RGSS2 more than anything so I can start makin' some VX scripts.

Screenshot
(https://rmrk.net/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fshadowruby.co.uk%2Fvxcompactmenu.PNG&hash=dc09c3ff5fc06c2c97183a2b6138e6291acfbb3a)


Instructions / Notes
You have to have at least one person in the party at any time, or the scriipt will fail.  To be honest, I wouldn't see the point in a menu if there was nobody in the party, so make sure menu is DISABLED at all times if you ever, for some reason, end up in this situation.

That's all there is.  Place above main, below Materials.  No need for a demo, it really is that simple to install.

Script


Code: [Select]
#==============================================================================
#  Compact Custom Menu System
#         RMVX Version
#            v1.0
#         by  Rubymatt
#==============================================================================


#==============================================================================
# ** NEW Window_Gold
#==============================================================================

class Window_Gold < Window_Base
  def initialize(x, y)
    super(x, y, 224, WLH + 32)
    refresh
  end
  def refresh
    self.contents.clear
    draw_currency_value($game_party.gold, 4, 0, 184)
  end
end

#==============================================================================
# ** NEW Window_MenuStatus
#==============================================================================

class Window_NewMenuStatus < Window_Selectable
  def initialize(x, y)
    super(0, 0, 64, $game_party.members.size * 36 + 32)
    self.contents = Bitmap.new(width - 32, height - 32)
    refresh
    self.active = false
    self.index = -1
  end
  def refresh
    self.contents.clear
    @item_max = $game_party.members.size
    for actor in $game_party.members
      x = 66
      y = actor.index * 36
      draw_actor_graphic(actor, x - 51, y + 32)
    end
  end
  def update_cursor
    if @index < 0
      self.cursor_rect.empty
    else
      self.cursor_rect.set(-2, @index * 36 - 2, 36, 36)
    end
  end
end

#==============================================================================
# ** NEW Scene_Menu
#==============================================================================

class Scene_Menu < Scene_Base
  def initialize(menu_index = 0)
    @menu_index = menu_index
  end
  def start
    super
    create_menu_background
    create_command_window
    @gold_window = Window_Gold.new(160, 248)
    @status_window = Window_NewMenuStatus.new(160, 0)
    @status_window.x = 320
    if $game_party.members.size == 4
      @status_window.y = 72
    elsif $game_party.members.size == 3
      @status_window.y = 88
    elsif $game_party.members.size == 2
      @status_window.y = 104
    elsif $game_party.members.size == 1
      @status_window.y = 120
    else
      @status_window.y = 72
    end
  end
  def terminate
    super
    dispose_menu_background
    @command_window.dispose
    @gold_window.dispose
    @status_window.dispose
  end
  def update
    super
    update_menu_background
    @command_window.update
    @gold_window.update
    @status_window.update
    if @command_window.active
      update_command_selection
    elsif @status_window.active
      update_actor_selection
    end
  end
  def create_command_window
    s1 = Vocab::item
    s2 = Vocab::skill
    s3 = Vocab::equip
    s4 = Vocab::status
    s5 = Vocab::save
    s6 = Vocab::game_end
    @command_window = Window_Command.new(160, [s1, s2, s3, s4, s5, s6])
    @command_window.x = 160
    @command_window.y = 72
    @command_window.height = 176
    @command_window.index = @menu_index
    if $game_party.members.size == 0       
      @command_window.draw_item(0, false)   
      @command_window.draw_item(1, false)   
      @command_window.draw_item(2, false)     
      @command_window.draw_item(3, false)     
    end
    if $game_system.save_disabled             
      @command_window.draw_item(4, false)   
    end
  end
  def update_command_selection
    if Input.trigger?(Input::B)
      Sound.play_cancel
      $scene = Scene_Map.new
    elsif Input.trigger?(Input::C)
      if $game_party.members.size == 0 and @command_window.index < 4
        Sound.play_buzzer
        return
      elsif $game_system.save_disabled and @command_window.index == 4
        Sound.play_buzzer
        return
      end
      Sound.play_decision
      case @command_window.index
      when 0     
        $scene = Scene_Item.new
      when 1,2,3 
        start_actor_selection
      when 4     
        $scene = Scene_File.new(true, false, false)
      when 5   
        $scene = Scene_End.new
      end
    end
  end
  def start_actor_selection
    @command_window.active = false
    @status_window.active = true
    if $game_party.last_actor_index < @status_window.item_max
      @status_window.index = $game_party.last_actor_index
    else
      @status_window.index = 0
    end
  end
  def end_actor_selection
    @command_window.active = true
    @status_window.active = false
    @status_window.index = -1
  end
  def update_actor_selection
    if Input.trigger?(Input::B)
      Sound.play_cancel
      end_actor_selection
    elsif Input.trigger?(Input::C)
      $game_party.last_actor_index = @status_window.index
      Sound.play_decision
      case @command_window.index
      when 1
        $scene = Scene_Skill.new(@status_window.index)
      when 2
        $scene = Scene_Equip.new(@status_window.index)
      when 3 
        $scene = Scene_Status.new(@status_window.index)
      end
    end
  end
end

Author's Notes / Credit

Not much else to say really.  Give credit, and enjoy.
Title: Re: Compact Menu System
Post by: DeathLock~ on June 07, 2008, 03:36:23 PM
Nice work, simple and clean. ;D
Title: Re: Compact Menu System
Post by: Leventhan on June 07, 2008, 04:12:31 PM
Classic and simple. Clean-looking too.
Good job, rubymatt. ;8
Title: Re: Compact Menu System
Post by: modern algebra on June 10, 2008, 09:14:38 PM
Yeah, it is a tidy little menu. Good job.
Title: Re: Compact Menu System
Post by: &&&&&&&&&&&&& on June 12, 2008, 02:27:12 AM
=3
It's tiny and cute and it fits in with the chibi little sprites.
Title: Re: Compact Menu System
Post by: Jeffreyh91 on July 26, 2008, 07:45:55 PM
This is pretty Awesome. Is there a way I could put the menu in the upper-left corner and not have the actual game in the back all faded? 
Title: Re: Compact Menu System
Post by: narcodis on July 29, 2008, 07:17:10 AM
this thing rules. good work. i shall be using.
Title: Re: Compact Menu System
Post by: Rubymatt on August 06, 2008, 09:47:47 AM
@Jeffrey: To get the position you want, just mess around with the x and y values in all the windows.  I can't really give you exact numbers, since I don't know what position in the top left you want it (Pressed up against the side, or with a gap...)

Thanks for teh comments.  Makes it all worthwile =D
Title: Re: Compact Menu System
Post by: Charbel on October 07, 2008, 08:01:15 PM
Good work! I'll use it!  :D
Title: Re: Compact Menu System
Post by: codemeister1990 on October 07, 2008, 08:05:48 PM
the screenshot didn't load...?
Title: Re: Compact Menu System
Post by: Raiden on January 27, 2009, 12:41:14 AM
Love it, thanks man.
Title: Re: Compact Menu System
Post by: IpickZero on May 06, 2011, 04:17:30 PM
can someone upload a screen shot of this, since the pic. wont load... plz  :)
Title: Re: Compact Menu System
Post by: pacdiggity on May 06, 2011, 04:25:38 PM
Nobody else probably would, because it's over two years old, but lucky for you I'm in a non-strangly mood.
(https://rmrk.net/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimg593.imageshack.us%2Fimg593%2F3100%2Fcmsa.jpg&hash=96470a526c25797f4b93c1954a8b38a00eca1fe3)
Pretty much.
Don't really see why you needed a screenie if it's a plug-and-play script that is in code tags...