RMRK is retiring.
Registration is disabled. The site will remain online, but eventually become a read-only archive. More information.

RMRK.net has nothing to do with Blockchains, Cryptocurrency or NFTs. We have been around since the early 2000s, but there is a new group using the RMRK name that deals with those things. We have nothing to do with them.
NFTs are a scam, and if somebody is trying to persuade you to buy or invest in crypto/blockchain/NFT content, please turn them down and save your money. See this video for more information.
Best way to make an event run once, every time the map is loaded?

Rep: +0/-0Level 82
Hi, first post here, I'm just beginning to get my feet wet with VX.

I have two questions, one simple and one more complex.

Simple question: what's the best way to set up an autorun event on a map so that the event will always run exactly once when the map is loaded, even if the player comes back to that same map again?

I've figured out the set-self-switch deal (where you set an event to autorun, have it change a self-switch to ON at the end of the event, and add a new event page with the condition set for that self-switch as ON) so a given autorun event doesn't loop endlessly.

But, I'd like to have an event run once, every time the player enters that map.  The set-self-switch approach means it runs once, then never runs again on subsequent map loads.

My guess is that I'm missing something really obvious, so I could use a sanity check! :)

Complex question: what's the best way to set up a light/darkness system so that the player needs to use items (torches, lanterns, flaming heads of enemies soaked in pitch and lit ablaze) to see in underground or unlit maps?

I'm slowly noodling this out by myself, and trying to do it properly, so that it still works if I go back and add teleports, portals or rapid travel between maps later on.