RMRK is retiring.
Registration is disabled. The site will remain online, but eventually become a read-only archive. More information.

RMRK.net has nothing to do with Blockchains, Cryptocurrency or NFTs. We have been around since the early 2000s, but there is a new group using the RMRK name that deals with those things. We have nothing to do with them.
NFTs are a scam, and if somebody is trying to persuade you to buy or invest in crypto/blockchain/NFT content, please turn them down and save your money. See this video for more information.
Need help for a 'must-lose' battle

Rep: +0/-0Level 87
*waves*

I'm a noob when it comes to the RPG Maker, having only discovered it a few days ago. I've been lurking for a while, but I haven't seen anyone ask a question similar to mine so I signed up to ask...

I'm working on an intro scene on RPGM '03. In it, the hero runs towards the villain to stop him from destroying a special 'magic' tree the hero worships. This initiates a boss fight you're not meant to win (in fact, the villain kills the hero before the ATB bar fills up once). The battle is meant as a cutscene, but I can't stop it from leading to the Game Over screen.

So my question is: how can I make a 'must-lose' battle which doesn't lead to the Game Over screen?

Also, how can I slow down the different part to an event? I want the villain to walk up to the 'magic' tree and cast a spell on it, but he ends up casting the spell while walking towards the tree.

Thanks in advance. :)

Communism<3
Rep:
Level 91
Too easy ^.~

For the first, make an event, click enemy encounter, in the "Defeat Handler" area click the "Execute custom handler" point.

For the second, you must insert a "wait" after the walking command for how ever many seconds it takes to walk to the tree.

For the first, make an event, click enemy encounter, in the "Defeat Handler" area click the "Execute custom handler" point.
I've gotten that far already.

It says on the Event Commands box: