RMRK is retiring.
Registration is disabled. The site will remain online, but eventually become a read-only archive. More information.

RMRK.net has nothing to do with Blockchains, Cryptocurrency or NFTs. We have been around since the early 2000s, but there is a new group using the RMRK name that deals with those things. We have nothing to do with them.
NFTs are a scam, and if somebody is trying to persuade you to buy or invest in crypto/blockchain/NFT content, please turn them down and save your money. See this video for more information.
[RMVXA] Are these possible/do these scripts exist?

Rep: +0/-0Level 37
RMRK Junior
Hi, first I'd like to state that I'm brand new to RPGMaker and have little knowledge when it comes to scripting and coding. noob ahoy
I plan to learn as I go, even if it takes a long time.
My main goal is to make (surprise surprise) an RPG horror game, but before I start my big project, I wanted to make a shorter game first so I can get used to scripting/making events/etc

So I have a few questions about what I can do with RPGMaker VX Ace, and whether scripts for these mechanics exist

This shorter game is a generic fantasy rpg type of game, but:
-Is it possible to employ a real-time combat mechanic using bow & arrows?
--Will parallax mapping make this more difficult?
--Can you easily make it so you could 'charge' your bow for a more powerful shot?
--Can you make it so that the arrows you shoot will visually appear in the trees/on the floor/in your enemies, and you can walk over each one and pick it back up after fighting?

-Is it relatively easy to make your character's appearance change as you switch armor? (I assume it is)
-Is there any sort of AI system/script so that a companion or pet's sprite will run towards enemies and attack them on their own?

-------------------------------------------

In regards to the main horror game that I want to make: