RMRK is retiring.
Registration is disabled. The site will remain online, but eventually become a read-only archive. More information.

RMRK.net has nothing to do with Blockchains, Cryptocurrency or NFTs. We have been around since the early 2000s, but there is a new group using the RMRK name that deals with those things. We have nothing to do with them.
NFTs are a scam, and if somebody is trying to persuade you to buy or invest in crypto/blockchain/NFT content, please turn them down and save your money. See this video for more information.
How do people here come up with game ideas?

Kitty
Rep:
Level 48
MOEW
I'm new to coming up with ideas and actually using them or making ideas work. Before me pushing to create things, I would come up with an idea and have to let it go because I had nothing to do with it.

How have people learned to stick with an idea and push it all the way to be finished?

I'm currently attempting to work on an endless runner in Game Maker: Studio. So no story, dialogue or anything aside from working (trying) on mechanics.

I have no experience with RPG maker or any idea how to make an RPG game story. I realize, at first, my games are probably going to be pretty bad, especially story wise. But I would like some advice on actually creating a complete story.

Thanks!

Rep:
Level 41
Bronze SS AuthorBronze Writing Reviewer
I typically think up a bunch of very basic ideas in Notepad to start with, then think of a type of morality scenario I'm interested in (a typical hero vs. villain escapade, anti-hero vs. anti-villain, hero-to-villain, etc.), then I take the idea and the morality scenario and expand upon the former.

There are really many ways to come up with an idea that suits your project, but I thought I'd put up my method.

Rep: +0/-0Level 38
Learn before you teach. Teach before you die.