RMRK is retiring.
Registration is disabled. The site will remain online, but eventually become a read-only archive. More information.

RMRK.net has nothing to do with Blockchains, Cryptocurrency or NFTs. We have been around since the early 2000s, but there is a new group using the RMRK name that deals with those things. We have nothing to do with them.
NFTs are a scam, and if somebody is trying to persuade you to buy or invest in crypto/blockchain/NFT content, please turn them down and save your money. See this video for more information.
(RPG 2003) I'm an absolute beginner at this redux

Rep: +0/-0Level 65
RMRK Junior
Hi folks,

My friend has been bugging me to get and play around with RPG maker for some time so I finally picked it up.

I'm making a (hopefully) simple standard fantasy RPG just to try my hand. Got my story planned out, done some doodles, made up some sprites etc.

But now it comes to actually making the game and I'm at something of a loss. My only experience with this sort of 'programming' is with the Warcraft 3 editor years ago.

Sorry for the long-winded intro.

Actual problem starts here:
I'm starting my game, playing with simple events trying to figure out what does what.

I have a dialog tree and then a couple of guys join the party, I want their sprites to disappear once they're in the party menu.

I tried turning on a switch and then setting their sprites to 'Erase Event', I tried teleporting them to somewhere out of the way but all my attempts just stop the whole thing from working.

Not really sure what I'm doing, I checked in the tutorials archive but didn't find anything of use.

Hope this is in the right place, apologies if it is not.

If someone could point towards some super-noob tutorials that'd be great.

Thanks in advance
« Last Edit: October 04, 2011, 10:17:47 PM by Tariff »

A-pow 2015
Rep:
Level 81