RMRK is retiring.
Registration is disabled. The site will remain online, but eventually become a read-only archive. More information.

RMRK.net has nothing to do with Blockchains, Cryptocurrency or NFTs. We have been around since the early 2000s, but there is a new group using the RMRK name that deals with those things. We have nothing to do with them.
NFTs are a scam, and if somebody is trying to persuade you to buy or invest in crypto/blockchain/NFT content, please turn them down and save your money. See this video for more information.
RMXP - Wondering about pos. game styles (w/Scripts) - shooters? parallax?

Rep:
Level 67
TheNeonHeart.com
So... I'm still learning RPG maker and figuring out what types of projects I want to make, and was just wondering about all the possibilities are available with RMXP. I have seen some interesting stuff around the web that says it's created with RPG Maker, just wondering if there is an introduction to the main types of games you can make.

Like, I've heard of something called Parallax but don't know much about it, something about a sky/building background and then just moving the character through the foreground like a side scroller? And also was wondering about different battle systems, like, instead of the turn based pre-programmed RMXP battle system, maybe a shoot-em-up game where you can pick up various weapons and just run around blasting or doing melee combat. Can anyone point me in the right direction for an overview of these and any other types, so I can see the options?
And if you stare for long enough into the abyss... you just might stare it down.

My Games: ExXception Draft
My Awesome Homepage The Neon Heart.com Host to My Writing / Music / Reviews / and More

Rep:
Level 69