The RPG Maker Resource Kit

RMRK RPG Maker Creation => VX => VX Event Systems => Topic started by: jameswhite89 on April 20, 2011, 03:35:46 PM

Title: [VX] Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: jameswhite89 on April 20, 2011, 03:35:46 PM
This event is enables you to make a capture enemy skill, meaning you will be able capture an enemy
Battler and add it to your party, Its is also set up to consume items each time an enemy is caught and works best with YERD_SkillEffects.

First we need the Common event for the skill in Question, feel free to change as you see fit!

@> Conditional Branch: Switch [001: Critical Capture] = ON
@> Control Switches: Switch [002: Capture] = ON
@> Change Items: [Item 1], - 1
@> Control Variables: [001: Captures] + = 1
@>Text:-,-, Normal, Bottom
: : The enemy is caught!
@>
: Else
@> Change Enemy State: Entire Troop, - [Capture]
@> Change Items: [Item 1], - 1
@> Control Switches: Switch [002: Capture] = OFF
@>Text:-,-, Normal, Bottom
: : The enemy escaped!
@>
: Branch End
@>



Next make a state call it Capture
Set its priority at 10
Make it non-resistance
Put nothing in the text box’s
Make it release after 1 turn with 100 Chance



Then make a skill and call it Capture!
If you have YERD_SkillEffects paste <require all item 1> into the note box
If you don’t then it means you will still use the skill when there’s no capture items for it
And the skill does nothing when it has no capture items.
Give it 1 Base Damage
Give it 1 Attack-Force
Make the skill add the Capture state
Set the mp cost to zero
Make it use the capture common event
Set the target as one enemy



Then make a Item and call it Trap!
Make sure the items id is the same as the one above
And set the costs for the capture item?



Make a Common Event call it: Call Enemy 1
@> Change Part Member: Add [enemy here], Initialize
@>
Make a Common Event call it: Call Enemy 2
@> Change Part Member: Add [enemy here], Initialize
@>
Make a Common Event call it: Call Enemy 3
@> Change Part Member: Add [enemy here], Initialize

@>




Obviously you will need to make sure the actor is the same as the enemy you want
To Call so give the actor the same skills and appearance.

Then Go into your troop box

Make a new condition event with enemy 1’s HP 20% or below
@> Control Switches: Switch [003: Critical Capture HP] = ON


The make another event page with the conditional Switch [002: Capture] = ON
make it set for moment
Then enter
@> Conditional Branch: Switch [1. Enemy A] is [Capture] Inflicted
@> Call Common Event: Call Enemy 1
@> Call Change Enemy State: [1. Enemy A], + [Incapacitated]
@> Control Switches: Switch [002: Capture] = OFF
@> Conditional Branch: Switch [001: Critical Capture] = OFF
@>
: Else
@>
: Branch End
@>



Currently this event can only capture enemy: [1. Enemy A]
If you want capture more copy the above and paste it below that branch and then change
[1. Enemy A] to [2. Enemy B]
Repeat to cover all the enemies and if their different types of enemy, make sure they have there own
@> Control Switches: Switch [003: Critical Capture HP] = ON, Event Page and change
@> Call Common Event: Call Enemy 1
To the actor you want to be caught.

Let me know of any bugs in it!
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: modern algebra on April 21, 2011, 05:22:38 PM
Thanks for sharing all these great systems! I am sure they will be helpful to lots of people :) Too many people so quickly resort to scripts without realizing how much can be done with just some clever eventing.
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: jameswhite89 on April 21, 2011, 06:51:33 PM
Hey thanks no problem :)
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: yuyu! on April 23, 2011, 06:49:16 PM
Oh, gosh! I had no idea you could do this with eventing!  :o

Great tutorials!!
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: jameswhite89 on April 23, 2011, 07:01:19 PM
Hey yh me either until i thought... it must be do-able lol
most things can be done through eventing, well most things that dont change the way RPG maker
works anyhow :)
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: Infinate X on April 27, 2011, 02:25:58 AM
Awesome! Is it possible to make a demo? Is it possible to make enemies that can not be captured?

How did you get enemy ID? (If I knew I could probably find out ^...)


Good job!
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: jameswhite89 on April 27, 2011, 12:57:17 PM
Hey sure no problem i will upload a demo soon ;)
And im a little unsure what you mean by enemy IDs
You basically paste the event into your troop box for hich ever enemies you want eg.
Goblin can be caught and he is enemy 1, so you post the event in his troop box but only once
if there was another anemy say, orc you would post it in again but change every thing that says enemy 1 to enemy 2
If you had a monster that was uncatchable u just dont put in the event..
i hope that helps a bit

ill get demo up soonish
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: Infinate X on April 27, 2011, 07:06:33 PM
thank you! Do you want a cookie?



EDIT: I don't accualy need a demo anymore.
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: jameswhite89 on April 27, 2011, 09:08:10 PM
ooo.. a cookie.. takes :)
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: Infinate X on April 27, 2011, 10:06:49 PM
Here's your cookie!

(https://rmrk.net/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi1085.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Fj426%2FRPGMakerVX52%2Fcookie.jpg&hash=d10f13eed0ccd19b781d09045e30f1eec2757a28)


EDIT: I finally decided to re-write your event to work with my game and it took FOREVER!!!!! I'm just glad it's over...
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: jameswhite89 on May 26, 2011, 04:50:55 AM
yh anything troop based tends to lol.. i just make one troop and copy it to all of the others then remove the enemys from that troop and add the ones i want
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: JOJguy66 on November 27, 2011, 06:12:20 PM
Capture an Enemy? Are you sure you don't mean....I....Have...to...Catch Em' all?
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: yuyu! on November 27, 2011, 09:52:49 PM
Actually, I know you made this awhile ago, but I decided to test it out right now on a new game because I'm bored. :)

I liked the idea of creating a demo for this.
Would you like me to make a demo for you, of the new game I'm testing it on?
For some reason, I really feel like making a demo! lol

If not, It's alright :) It may not really need a demo. Just thought it might make it quicker to copy/paste the info to anyone's game.
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: jameswhite89 on December 28, 2011, 02:20:35 AM
Sure go right ahead :D thanks
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: yuyu! on December 28, 2011, 06:05:03 AM
Sure go right ahead :D thanks

Okay! ;8 Finished already! I'll attach it. If you'd like, you can add it to the above post or just leave it down here, but either way I hope it helps at all. :) It wasn't hard to make it once I had already tested it out and had everything set up haha.

EDIT: Edited the demo and re-attached it here.
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: jameswhite89 on December 28, 2011, 11:24:13 AM
Hey yeah that works pretty well, only thing i would add would be a battle after the talking in the house with an event in that lets the player know the enemy is only catchable after you have taken away 75% of its health. Other then that its great!
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: yuyu! on December 28, 2011, 08:40:46 PM
Hey yeah that works pretty well, only thing i would add would be a battle after the talking in the house with an event in that lets the player know the enemy is only catchable after you have taken away 75% of its health. Other then that its great!

Oh, okay! Sure thing! I'll fix that and edit my post above with the new demo in a second :)

Edit: Okay, it's done. Re-attached it on my post above. :D
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: jameswhite89 on December 29, 2011, 02:01:42 PM
K now its awsome :) thanks for making it
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: yuyu! on December 30, 2011, 04:38:56 AM
Thanks!! I don't know if anyone will use it, but it's there just in case. It makes this much easier, so someone could just copy the codes rather then set them up haha :). I'm glad you like it! Great tutorial. ;8
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: nemrog on January 01, 2012, 09:45:18 PM
Yuyubabe you rule ^_^!

Tryed it out just now, and unlike my flunked attempt worked like a charm. Thank you for posting the Demo, very much needed.

Oh and thanks  Jameswhite89 for posting these awesome Skills. They are very useful.
Title: Re: Capture Enemy Skill
Post by: yuyu! on January 02, 2012, 11:06:54 PM
Thank you, nemrog!! :] Jameswhite89 is a very talented event-user, so I thank him once again for this great event tutorial, as well!

On another note, I was originally a little sad that once you capture one of a kind of enemy, one is the limit and trying to catch a new one of that type will do nothing (or replace the other one, I forget D:).

But, dricc made a great script (http://rmrk.net/index.php/topic,42638.0.html) that allows you to clone actors. I haven't tested to see if it works perfectly with this tutorial, but I don't see why there would be any problems. :-)

Many thanks again to dricc and Jameswhite89!!